Syncing Lightroom CC and Lightroom Desktop

To get the best from Lightroom CC and the desktop version, you need to set up a sync between the two. This way, you’re able to easily upload images whilst you’re out and about and can apply the more powerful features of the desktop version when you get back to the desk.

You can begin the set up by searching for the Lightroom CC app on your device’s application store and tap the relevant button to install it. Once the installation is complete, open the app and you will be prompted to accept the Adobe agreement and tap the Sign In button or Sign Up.

Enter your Adobe username and password, the same one that you used when you signed up for Lightroom or the Adobe Cloud. When ready, tap the Sign In button to log in to the Lightroom app and the Adobe Cloud.

After a few moments you should be logged in; if not, double check your connection to the Internet and username and password for any mistakes. The Lightroom CC interface appears a little bleak to begin with. Let’s begin by adding photos to a collection for uploading. Tap the Add Photos button at the bottom of the UI.

You now have a list of all the photographs that you have taken on the device. Now you can scroll through them and select a few examples to test the syncing. You can select them by tapping the circle in the top left of the image thumbnail. Tap Add when you’ve made your selection.

You will then be returned to the main Lightroom CC front screen interface. You will be informed of the upload progress of your images. You may need to tap the cloud icon located in the upper right of the UI and re-enter your Adobe login details. We needed to do this just the once, yet another device we were using didn’t require it.

On the desktop version of Lightroom Classic or CC, click on the Help option from the top menu followed by Updates. This will open the Creative Cloud update manager window. If there are updates for Lightroom, or any other Adobe product you own or have on trial, then click the button to apply the updates.

Updating Lightroom Classic CC and Lightroom CC versions ensures that both versions are working to valid version numbers. Often, an error in syncing is due to one version not recognising the other because of an update from one or the other. You may need to restart Lightroom. Now, click on your name in the top left of the Lightroom desktop version.

The menu expands under your name located in the top left corner of the workspace, so click on the Sync With Lightroom CC option. This may ask for an updated username and password again, so be prepared to enter it. The syncing process will start and it will show you a progress bar.

Specify the location and any sub folders for the Lightroom images that will be synced between the device and the desktop. Click the OK button and in the Lightroom CC, click on the Cloud icon again to force an update. There will be a small icon with a check mark in it to indicate that your images are now synced and backed up.

Your synced photos from Lightroom CC should now be uploading into the desktop version of Lightroom Classic CC. They can be located in the Catalogue pane, under the All Synced Photographs section. You can see the status of synced photos from the Lightroom CC tab in the Preferences window.

Mark Frost

Mark started work as a commercial artist during the good old days of Letraset, spray mount and having to process your photos at a local chemist. Having discovered his passion for photography, Photoshop and the wonders of digital image manipulation, he has not looked back. He is well on his way to owning more cameras than he’s had hot dinners.

Related Articles

Back to top button